What if D3 got Hybrid Gems?

DISCLAIMER: I’m casual, i play to complete season journeys and test new sets or complete achievements, so i’m not good at judging the power and depth of mechanics, gear, etc. With that said:

Would it be a good idea to introduce hybrid gems.
These would be attribute gems that combine the effects of the 3 attribute gems (Ruby, Topaz, Emerald) to yield a 50% of each one’s effect. For example:

Flawless Royal Tourmaline (Ruby-Emerald): … - Other: 140 Strength, 140 Dexterity.

Flawless Royal Hessonite (Ruby-Topaz): … - Other: 140 Strength, 140 Intelligence.

Flawless Royal Sapphire (Topaz-Emerald): … - Other: 140 Intelligence, 140 Dexterity.

For once i don’t know if it would barely make a difference, be worth the trouble or be blatantly OP. So I ask all of you.

Would it make build slightly more interesting if not also colourful?

1 Like

It wouldn’t be worth the time it would take to implement, even if that was just 5 minutes. Because gem use is more or less written in stone across the board.

• Emerald for weapon (crit damage)
  • Diamonds for chest + pants (resistances)
  • Topaz (resource cost reduction) or Diamond (cooldown reduction) for helm (and the occasional amethyst = +Life % if you’re not wearing Crimson set)
1 Like

Exactly what i feared.
Ah well, question answered.

1 Like

A more likely approach would be to add a means to fuse a gem to a legendary gem for some bonus stats. However, I’d also like to see a few more tiers added where the non-traditional choices get some exponential bumps to make them more tempting over chasing yet more main stat.

1 Like

I want Jewels back. :frowning:

At least that would give build diversity to the body armor/legs slots. Instead of auto-diamond, you could get a rare jewel that has a variety of stats which may be desirable. IE: Crit chance, elemental damage, crit damage, area damage, cooldown, etc

If you roll up a jewel that has 3-5 affixes and perhaps you get something like this: