Something I've Never Done Before

Never attempted to access Diablo II’s game files.
Never used any kind of script on bnet.
Never purchased my gear.
Never used a mod.

My level of skill was developed via trial and error and playing with other players with similar gaming principles.

Likely goes for most of us. Cheaters are easily noticeable, but they usually are a minority.

I like to believe that. Especially because most of the people I personally know who play or played D2, do so on singleplayer. Battlenet is just a fraction of the actual playerbase (although it’s impossible to have an statistical grasp of how representative that fraction is, it’s valid to consider that D2 was sold pretty much in the whole world, but only a few countries actually have battle.net servers close by for a lag-free, or almost, experience), and the people who do things like buying gear and botting are primarily on battle.net.

Of course, on singleplayer you will still have your average hero editor user and such.

A couple of years ago Blizzard removed the feature that said how many players were playing D2 on bnet. The numbers at the time were 20k - 40k at any given time during the dead season of ladder. At reset, between 80k - 100k. There are 100s of 1000s of characters made every ladder that are not mules. Right now, during ladder dead season the bnet buy and sell forums on JSP have posts going up every 5 seconds 24/7. China, Korea, Australia (US West & Asia), Western Europe, Canada, Mexico and the USA all have easily accessible servers. The single player base is a good size, and the mod community has grown significantly, but they are still nothing compared to the numbers on bnet. bnet also hosts the massive pvp community.