Open Letter to Blizzard (and an offer)

I’ve been playing Blizzard games since Diablo I in 1996. I’ve seen some amazing things from this company. They made the best games, had the best support, and had a dedicated company making games for gamers. All of that is gone now. Not going to speculate on the reasons, there are many, but the fact remains.

Diablo III: Either Blizzard doesn’t care, doesn’t have the resources, or are incapable of fixing this game. This latest PTR is a prime example. The testing methodology is terrible. What should minimally be test, fix, test, fix, go live has become test, test, fix, go live. The odds of getting anything right using that approach is minimal.

Season 22 was supposed to be a balancing effort. Right now, based on the PTR, for soloing, we have some great classes like Crusader, DH, and Necro. Some decent classes like Monk and WD. And some terrible classes like Wizard and Barb. The PTR brought changes that got us to this point. There are still major imbalances. Where are the changes to address this? Are they ever going to be made? It’s clear they won’t be tested before going live. The chance of getting anything balanced and addressing all the issues folks have brought up are slim.

With some simple changes and testing many of these issues can be resolved. Yet Blizzard is silent on what they are going to do, if anything. So now the plan is to possibly make changes, and then just go live and pray. Anyone confident that is going to to work?

Offer to Blizzard: I have an extensive background in QA and Reliability for multi-billion dollar high tech companies. I am retired and live an hour from your headquarters. I will provide testing assistance for no monetary compensation. All I ask in return is free Blizzard games for me and my kids for as long as you are in business. What do you have to lose?

Sincerely,

Tarkus

11 Likes

Lol, don’t you know they don’t test their games?