More Akara resets, but at a cost

I suggest that after you get your free den of evil respec, you can keep doing it but at a gold cost. I’m thinking character level x 1000 should be the cost. (A level 34 character would cost 34000 gold to respec)

The biggest problem I had when I started playing d2 was I never knew what skills were good and what were bad. Since d2r is coming to consoles where a lot of people have never played diablo, I think it’s a good change for those that are new and could benefit experienced players who want to switch up their build without needing a token. (I also suggested in a different post about making the essences for a token drop in normal and nightmare but at a lowered rate)

I recently played d2 coop with a friend who had never played it before and he was complaining about his damage, so I asked what build he was doing and I told him it was a pretty bad setup. I’m going to play d2r with him when it comes out and something like this would be a benefit to inexperienced players like him and I don’t see any harm in adding it to the game as it would remove the frustration of bad builds and let people experiment with different setups easier.

I’d like to hear what d2 vets think about this, and maybe people who are going to be new to this game.

7 Likes

This has come up before and I appreciate your point to make it more appealing to new players I think there’s already too many opportunities to respec as is. You used to have to make a new char for a new build. Decisions had much more weight back then. Now There’s a respec for den of evil quest x 3 plus essence cubed.

17 Likes

A new player probably won’t be able to get the essences by themselves in hell on a bad build. My other suggestion for making essences drop in earlier difficulties would help this, but I like the akara gold cost idea more.