Has the loot excitement gone from D3 now?

Just did some mandatory bounties in order to re roll some gear and it made me think, is everything with loot a chore now?

I don’t often make any comparison between D2 and D3, but for me the game is about loot, the excitement of finding the rarest of rare drops, but that’s gone now.

It used to be there, but it’s not now. I found a red star the other day. A green ring, which I knew would be a crappy compass rose with terrible stats, and it didn’t disappoint.
650 int,
130 all res,
20 area damage,
12 movement speed and
a socket.

That’s not how you are supposed to feel about this game.
Red stars, especially with gear that you use, are supposed to be end game.
The holy grail, the likelihood of finding another is virtually non existent, you don’t want to feel as though you are expecting it to be completely awful.

I’m a witch doctor, so I’ll use the example of the SMK. Used to be a super rare drop as it was the key to the build at the time. Now it’s not only useless because of mandatory sets, it’s as common as anything.

I hope D4 brings back the excitement of “FINDING” epic loot once more.

18 Likes

Couldn’t agree more.

2 Likes

In a word? Yes.

The excitement absolutely has gone out of it for me as well. I couldn’t tell you how many times I’ve had to reroll items to correct the seemingly-purposely terrible stats on what should have been a treasured artifact necessary for my build.

I can give you an example. By the way, all you “RNG IS LORD” guys in the peanut gallery, please don’t feel the need to chime in on this. We know. Trust me, we know all too well that RNG routinely negates the utility of a given item 99% of the time it drops. Doesn’t need to be said. Continuing with the example.