Freezes and Lockups

I started playing Diablo III again back in June under v2.6.8; for almost a month I never encountered any issues. However, since v.2.6.9 I have been experiencing occasional (once every couple of days), complete game freezes where I can’t even Cmd-Tab out of the game. The only way I’m able to regain control of my system is to kill the Diablo III process via SSH.

Here are my system specs:

Model Name: iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, 2019)
Model Identifier: iMac19,1
Filesystem: APFS
Processor Name: 8-Core Intel Core i9
Processor Speed: 3.6 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 8
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 16 MB
Memory: 64 GB
Chipset Model: Radeon Pro Vega 48

Does the game do this in the same location all the time, or at least in a specific location more often than not?

Hey, Valana! Along with TheTias’ questions, I’m curious if you play in fullscreen mode and if it seems to freeze when in Windowed mode (CMD+M). Does this seem to happen with specific classes or characters as well?

1 Like

Thank you both for the replies. I’ve mostly been playing Greater Rifts in 4-player games since 1.6.9, where the lockups have been occurring. That is different from 1.6.8, where I only played solo following my return to the game.

The lockups have been occurring at random. I’d say they were happening during big fights with lots of visual and sound effects, but that is pretty much what is happening 100% of the time during 4-player Rifts.

I play Gears of Dreadlands Demon Hunter exclusively (was Wizard-only during 1.6.8, both Firebird Meteor and Chantodo Vyr).

I play in Fullscreen (non-windowed), because both windowed modes resulted in input lag for me.

I haven’t experienced the lockups in a few days, but I’ll update if I notice something new. Thank you!

1 Like

Valana,