Deathwish Secondary Damage Type

Hello all, I’m new to wizard and building a Firebird set. It’s my understanding that people recommend lightning damage on the Deathwish in order to cover all the elements for the Elemental Exposure passive, but I was wondering why normal damage isn’t used as the secondary damage affix? Since the set scales 1500x off of Weapon Damage, wouldn’t having a full extra 1700 base avg wep damage (upwards of 30-40% increased avg wep damage) yield better damage increase over the 5% you get off an additional EE stack?

Anyone with knowledge of the maths please let me know why this isn’t the case. Thanks.

Don’t know what you mean. It’s only for elemental exposure that ligthning damage plays a role. For all the other damage calculations the damage type on the weapon doesn’t matter.

1 Like

The point is to have the base damage BE lightning, such as 1538-1847 LIGHTNING damage, not the 20% lightning damage you can have on, say, bracers or ammy. You aren’t rolling off the base damage at all, just trying to have it be both a good high roll AND lightning type. Hope that helps.

1 Like

From the 2pc description: “Disintegrate ignites enemies, causing 3000% weapon damage until they die.” and then from 6pc “You gain 5000% increased damage when ignite is applied to a target. Hitting an ignited enemy […] deals ignite damage multiplied by combustion stacks.”

From what I understand of the set based off the guides I’ve seen, most all of the damage you do comes from the weapon damage scaling in the set, being ignite damage which is defined in the set as 3000% weapon damage ticks, multiplied by up to 50. So this is why I’m wondering wouldn’t your overall damage scale better by having normal damage as the secondary roll rather than an elemental on your deathwish, since that would increase your baseline average weapon damage substantially, yielding the 3000% * 50 scaling, instead of just 5% from one additional stack of elemental exposure.