Strength Attribute - Improve 2H Weapons

Currently, the Strength Attribute determines the amount of damage you deal with your equipped weapon and each point increases your damage dealt by 1% of your weapon’s damage.

In an effort to make 2H weapons become more competitive, I would like to propose that each point increases your damage dealt by 3% of your weapon’s damage when 2H weapons are equipped. This would make Strength three times as effective for 2H weapons.

For example, if you have 100 points in Strength, you would do 300% more weapon damage with 2H weapons vs. 100% for 1H weapons. Thats a whopping 200% more weapon damage and is not trivial.

The benefit of this change is it would buff 2H weapons across the board and does not require a massive overhaul. I’m no programmer, but think it would be a straightforward change and could be implemented fairly quickly.

Last point, this change opens up more build diversity with players pursuing Strength based characters and makes the Strength Attribute more important beyond meeting stat requirements for gear. Thoughts?

Strength Attribute

• 1H weapons: Each point of Strength increases damage dealt by 1%

• 2H weapons: Each point of Strength increases damage dealt by 3%

Attribute Current Proposed
Dexterity (/point) +5 AR +10 AR
Strength (/point) +1% damage +2% damage
9 Likes

It would be nice if the damage benefit was higher in general so there’s more of a reason to skill it up instead of vitality.

3 Likes

I’m not sure if buffing the ST bonus for 2H weapons is better than say, buffing the base damage of 2H weapons. Overall, the goal of making them better than their 1H counterparts (at least in terms of damage) makes sense.

I’d prefer 2H weapons to be the king of damage, 2x 1-handed to have the most utility, and 1-handed + shield the most defense.

I think this is in part due to the MASSIVE power of grief compared to other runewords (hence this could also be addressed in runeword changes).

2 Likes