[Long post]: My first impressions of the beta build

I’m really excited to see that the devs are finally paying attention to the Battle Net app experience. This is really long overdue and has been requested (especially by myself) extensively over the years.

Unfortunately, I feel that the costs far outweigh the benefits in this case. I’ll go ahead and break down some of the pros and cons that jump out at me:

Pros
  • Much better peripheral awareness of friends!
    It’s nice that I don’t need to go to the (now non-existent) social tab to get an idea of who’s online and what they’re up to. I definitely feel a lot more connected to my people this way.

• The interface looks good. Really good.
    I can’t really stress enough how different this experience is, just from a visual standpoint. As a designer myself, I really appreciate how sleek and light the UI feels, even in spite of all the beautiful gradients and the animations. I am very impressed with the new visual style of Battle Net. If the visuals alone are any indication of the devs’ commitment to a fresh experience, then I think we have plenty to hope for.

Cons
  • The social tab has been removed!?
    Release version of Battle Net allows us to choose between using the app entirely for launching games, entirely for chatting with friends, or using multiple windows to do both simultaneously. Now you need to have two windows open to chat with friends, meaning that there’s a net loss of functionality compared with the release version.

• You can’t even display all games.
    This one is a bit of a nitpick, but it’s kind of a ridiculous little “bug”. “You can only favorite 9 games”, so you will always have to leave at least 1 game out of your rotation. It’s probably unlikely that anyone needs all of the games displayed, but this is a dumb limitation given the enormous amount of space in the top bar.

• All displayed games are considered “favorites”.