Console 'Appear Offline' status resets to 'Online'

Reposting from the Overwatch bug forum —

In case devs need a step-by-step to reproduce for an internal test…

  1. Log into Bnet app; set status as ‘offline’

  2. Launch Overwatch on console

  3. Queue for a match, enter a practice range, or open social menu

  4. Result: status immediately forces itself back to ‘online’, letting friends message, invite, or join your group without consent.

This isn’t just annoying, it breaks standard social privacy features by allowing unconsented group joins, social interactions when players want to play solo, and actively deters console players from logging into the game (as you can see from the 50+ posts pointing this issue out since November 2025, which I have provided in the original post found in the Overwatch Bug forum (titled [BUG] Console ‘Appear Offline’ status resets to ‘Online’)

Acknowledge this privacy concern. Please.