[Blue Post Requested] D2 Patch vs Remaster | Opinion & Question

Hey everyone!
As a Diablo 2 veteran, I take huge interest in Diablo’s development and its community.

A lot of people talk about the idea of the game being remastered. Although, the idea does sound appealing, I do not support Remaster project.

Games like Starcraft & Warcraft got remastered. But has anything really changed? Gameplay, mechanics, objectives, skills & etc all remain unchanged. Throwing pretty clothes on does not suddenly make a “better” or a “new” person.

Instead, I urge everyone to consider the possibilities of new potential content, bug fixes, balance patches, buffs & nerfs:

• We all know that tons of content was unreleased: Guilds, runewords, quests, NPCs, items & etc.
  • New difficulty level: MythicNot for solo play — Every mob has 2-3 resistance types. Things such as Infinity Runeword & Lower Resist Curse will have no effect. This would encourage people coming together as a team once again. Remember the days when Level 26 sorcs had to tele to baal on Normal to allow everyone else do the runs?
  • With the introduction of 1.10 OP runewords & increase game difficulty, a lot of vanilla content has been left unattended, thus making it practically obsolete. Examples of that would be Bowazons, Feral Druids, Nova (Light), & many ingame sets/items (Grandfarter ^^) & many many more.

With that in mind, as someone who does statistical programming for living, I do not believe that those would require much of a “from scratch” scripting. as a lot of things can simply be numerically altered.

Having said all of that, I would love to see just a tiny bit of extra content introduced into such an iconic game as Diablo. Sadly, Diablo 3 looks like powerpuff girls on steroids to me, so I never took liking to this “sequel”.