365 Day Cooldown On Account Linking

I just recently downloaded and set up a battle.net and unfortunately made the mistake of linking the wrong Xbox Live account. However now it appears that I will have to wait an entire year to link the correct account, and therefore will not have access to any of my previous items from Overwatch 1. I understand the security concerns as a justification for a cooldown, but a 365 day duration for said cooldown is just an insanely disproportionate punishment for a literal misclick on my behalf.